Our Team

Our Leadership


MaLisa Umstead

Founder and Executive Director

Dawn Ferrer

Program Director

Morgann Kauffman

Program Manager

Anjanette Spencer

Director of Charitable Giving

Our Board of Directors


Vic Roberts

Board Chair, A Safe Place

MaLisa Johnson Umstead

Founder, A Safe Place


Emily Gore

Secretary/Treasurer, A Safe Place

Molly Johnson

Board of Director,

Director of Convention Sales, Wilmington, NC Convention & Visitor’s Bureau

Dawn Mann

Board of Director,

Retired Educator

Blair Kutrow

Board of Director,

Business owner, New Hanover County

Jessica L. Whitney, Ph.D.

Board of Director,

Part-time Faculty, UNC Wilmington


Michealle Gady, JD

Founder & President of Atromitos


Dawn Lenns

Retired HR Director

Our Young Professionals Board

Our Young Professionals Board (ages 24-39) will serve as development partners for A Safe Place by hosting events as a team in order to fundraise and bring awareness in their professional communities and beyond.  

If you are interested in learning more,

contact Dawn Ferrer at dawn@asafeplacetogo.com